For updates regarding COVID-19 and the affected services and programs, please click here.

Our Biggest Conference Yet!

On Thursday, November 3, 2016, over 300 professionals came together for the 16th Annual Council on Chemical Abuse Annual Conference. Every year the conference provides a day of training and education for those in the social services field around the topic of addiction. This year the conference focused on Medication Assisted Treatment or MAT.


The Commonwealth Physician General, Dr. Rachel Levine, presented on the topic of “Heroin and the Opioid Crisis.” Dr. Levine’s presentation was recording and can be viewed on the Council on Chemical Abuse Facebook pageClick here to download a handout of Dr. Levine’s presentation.

Attendees had the opportunity to sit in 2 of 6 workshops offered all around the topic of MAT. These workshops ran 2-2 1/2 hours and allowed for questions. The Reading Eagle published a great article about Dr. Santoro’s workshop here.

Workshop topics and presenters included the following:

“Methadone & Suboxone: Opioid Antagonist Therapy” Presented by Dr. William Santoro, Reading Health Systems
“The Impact of Vivitrol” Presented by Christopher Davis, M.D., Bridgewater Landing Treatment Center
“Hijacking the Brain: When Using is Not A Choice” Presented by Dean Drosnes, M.D., Caron Treatment Centers
“Recovery Through M.A.T.” Presented by Ken Dickinson, M.S., RPh., HonDSc., Gaudenzia, Inc.
“Better Boundaries: Better Outcomes” Presented by Dave Reyher, M.A., C.A.A.D.C., Instructor, Alvernia University
“Co-occurring disorders: when two roads meet” Presented by Marge Hanna, M. Ed., and David Loveland, Ph.D., Community Care Behavioral Health (CCBH)

At the 2016 Luncheon Award Ceremony, the following six awards were presented:

The Roger S. Hertz Education Award – Tiger Assistance Program, Fleetwood Middle School
The Joseph “Bud” Haines Community Award – Reverend Jeremiah Sassaman & Tyler Bard, Topton American Legion Ambulance Services
The Francis “Fran” Drexler Public Safety Award – Stephanie Smith, Berks County Jail System
Betty J. McDonough Treatment Award – Mairead Desmond, New Directions Treatment Services
Algot “Al” Eckstrom Recovery Award – Sam Albert, Recovery Coaching Services
The President’s Award – Commissioner Christian Y. Leinbach, Commissioner Kevin S. Barnhardt, and Commissioner Mark C. Scott

Congratulations to all our award winners!

Other Blog Posts

TRAININGS: PRO-A Recovery Leadership SeriesRead More »

Free Lock Boxes & Medication Disposal BagsRead More »

See All Blog Post